INEC Gives Update On 14 By-Elections In Eight States



INEC Gives Update On 14 By-Elections In Eight States

On Tuesday, the Independent National Electoral Commission reported that 13 political parties have stated their intention to hold primaries for the coming by-elections.

Fourteen legislative elections will be held in ten States on 31 October, according to INEC.

The behavior is for the Bayelsa Central Senatorial District; Bayelsa West Senatorial District; Nganzai State Constituency, Borno; Bayo State Constituency, Borno; North Senatorial District of Cross River; Obudu State Constituency, Cross River;

Others are Imo North Senatorial District; Lagos East Senatorial District; Kosofe II State Constituency, Lagos; Plateau South Senatorial District, Bakura State Constituency, Zamfara; Ibaji State Constituency, Kogi.

A statement by Festus Okoye, INEC National Commissioner for Information, said the parties opted for indirect primaries.

See Also:   INEC Announces Date to Commence 2021 Voters Registration Nationwide

“Some of the political parties did not specify the venues within the respective constituencies for the conduct of their primaries. Their attention is hereby drawn to the provisions of Section 87(4)(c) of the Electoral Act, 2010 (as amended).”

“The section makes it mandatory for any party that intends to nominate a candidate to the Senate, House of Representatives and State House of Assembly to hold its congresses in the respective senatorial district, federal constituency and the state assembly constituency.”

INEC confirmed that Speakers of Enugu and Katsina State Houses of Assembly have notified it of the deaths of members representing Isi-Uzo constituency and Bakori constituency, respectively.

See Also:   Breaking: Muazu emerges Acting INEC Chairman after Yakubu's tenure

With their seats declared vacant, the total number of by-elections are now 14.

“The commission has released a harmonised timetable and schedule of activities for two constituencies. The Notice of Election shall be published on August 26 and political parties shall conduct their party primaries between August 27 and September 8″, Okoye added.

The official disclosed that the harmonized timetable and schedule of activities have been uploaded on the commission’s website and social media platforms.

TrueTalk Nigeria



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here