Chelsea, Manchester City, United, Liverpool, 8 others To Face EPL Punishment

epl Punishment
Chelsea, Manchester City, United, Liverpool, To Face EPL Punishment

All English Premier League (EPL) clubs have been fined as a result of illegally agreeing to join in a European Super League (ESL).

TrueTalkNews understands that the six English clubs affected have been asked to pay a combined £22m fine.

This was disclosed in a statement signed by the Premier League and the Football Association on Wednesday, June 9.

Two months ago, twelve football’s biggest clubs in Europe defied worldwide backlash and officially announced the creation of the European Super League.

See Also:   United Kingdom (UK) government gives EPL date to resume season

Despite their leagues and UEFA kicking against the move, the clubs have announced they have formed a new breakaway league, with each side set to immediately receive a share of £3billion.

TrueTalkNews reports that the 12 clubs include Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United, Tottenham, Barcelona, Real Madrid, Atletico Madrid, Inter Milan, Juventus and AC Milan.

However, following a resolution by the English club governing body, clubs including Manchester City, Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool, Manchester United and Tottenham have agreed to a £25m fine and a potential 30-point deduction, if it happens in future.

See Also:   Ballon d’Or 2021: Messi Leads Chart as Two Chelsea players ranked 2nd

“As a gesture of goodwill, the clubs have collectively agreed to make a contribution of £22m, which will go towards the good of the game, including new investment in support for fans, grassroots football and community programmes,” the statement issued on Wednesday read in part.

It added that “the clubs have agreed to support rule changes so that any similar actions in the future would lead to a 30-point deduction.

“Each of the six clubs, in that event, would also be subject to an additional £25m fine.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here