Buhari Appoints New NNPC Board Members for [SEE FULL LIST]

New NNPC Board Members
New NNPC Board Members

President Muhammadu Buhari has appointed New Nigerian National Petroleum Company, NNPC Board Members.

President Buhari has also mandated that the Nigerian National Petroleum Company, or NNPC, be turned into a company.

Mele Kyari, the NNPC Group Managing Director, received the order from Buhari.

In a statement made on Sunday, his spokesman, Femi Adesina, revealed the president’s directive.

The presidential spokesman explained that Buhari’s action was backed by the relevant provisions of the constitution.

Adesina said the president’s directive was in “consonance with Section 53(1) of the Petroleum Industry Act 2021, which requires the Minister of Petroleum Resources to cause for the incorporation of the NNPC Limited within six months of commencement of the Act in consultation with the Minister of Finance on the nominal shares of the Company.

See Also:   "Igbo will always support you", Enugu monarch assures Buhari

“The Group Managing Director of the NNPC, Mr Mele Kolo Kyari, has, therefore, been directed to take necessary steps to ensure that the incorporation of the NNPC Limited is consistent with the provisions of the PIA 2021.

“Also, by the power vested in him under Section 59(2) of the PIA 2021, President Buhari has approved the appointment of the Board and Management of the NNPC Limited, with effect from the date of incorporation of the company.”

See Also:   Buhari to loan $1bn facility from World Bank, writes to Reps

The statement also disclosed that the president reserved the position of the Minister of Petroleum Resources to himself.

The president also appointed board members of NNPC, among whom are Senator Ifeanyi Ararume, and Kyari.

Buhari appointed Senator Ifeanyi Ararume as the Chairman of the Board, Mele Kolo Kyari as Chief Executive Officer and Umar Ajiya Chief Financial Officer.

Others Buhari appointed include; “Tajudeen Umar (North East), Lami Ahmed (North Central), Mohammed Lawal (North West), Margaret Chuba Okadigbo from South East, Constance Harry Marshal also from the South South, and Pius Akinyelure (South West),” the statement said.

True Talk Nigeria


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here