winners and losers in senatorial by elections
winners and losers in senatorial by-elections

 Winners and losers in senatorial by-elections РThe two major parties won three senatorial seats each as APC and PDP battle for votes in senatorial by-elections.

Meanwhile, The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) conducted six senatorial by-elections on Saturday, December 5, across the country.

The seats were mainly contested by the ruling All Progressives Congress and the opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

This piece by lists the winners and losers in the just-concluded elections.

1. Bayelsa West senatorial district

APC -Peremobowei Ebebi
PDP – Henry Seriake Dickson (Winner)

The immediate past governor of Bayelsa, Henry Seriake Dickson, candidate of the PDP, won with a landslide as he polled 115,257 against Peremobowei Ebebi of the APC who had 17,500 votes.

2. Bayelsa Central senatorial district

APC – Abel Ebi Femowei
PDP – Cleopas Moses Zuwoghe (Winner) Moses Cleopas, the candidate of the PDP polled 110,019 votes to defeat his closest rival for the crucial senatorial seat, Abel Efemowei of the APC, who scored 18,947 votes.

3. Lagos East senatorial district

APC – Abiru Mukhail Adetokunbo (Winner)
PDP – Babatunde Olalere Gbadamosi

The APC candidate in the Lagos East senatorial bye-election, Tokunbo Abiru, recorded a landslide victory over his opponent, Babatunde Gbadamosi of the PDP, in all the local government areas: Epe, Ibeju-Lekki, Kosofe, Shomolu, and Ikorodu.

He polled 89,204 votes while his PDP rival was able to secure only 11,257 votes, leaving a very massive margin of 77,947 votes.

4. Plateau South senatorial district

APC – Nora Ladi Daduut (Winner)
PDP – George Edwards Daika

The candidate of the APC, Prof. Nora Daduut, polled a total of 83,151 votes to defeat nine other candidates, including her closest rival and PDP candidate, George Daika, who got 70,838 votes. Read more:

5. Imo North senatorial district

APC – (Winner)
PDP – Emmanuel E Okewulonu

There is an unfolding development Imo North senatorial district. Though the APC has been declared the winner of the election, there are two candidates from the party laying claim to the victory. Since the matter is in court, INEC did not name the candidate to claim the victory.

The APC won the election by polling 36, 811 votes, while Emmanuel Okewulonu of the PDP came behind by scoring 31, 903 votes.

The two APC “candidates” in question are Chukwuma Francis Ibezim and Senator Ifeanyi Ararume.

6. Cross River North senatorial district

APC – Joe Odey Agi
PDP – Stephen Adi Odey (Winner)

Stephen Odey scored 129,207 votes to defeat eight other candidates including the APC flagbearer who scored 19,165 votes to emerge second.

meanwhile, the APC has announced the dissolution of all state, zonal and national structures of the party.

The party made the announcement on Tuesday, December 8, at an emergency meeting held at the presidential villa in Abuja.

The move was part of the decision reached by the National Executive Council (NEC) of the party.


Get daily free tips on football major leagues!