JUST IN: Buhari Nominates All Ex-Service chiefs as ambassadors

JUST IN: Buhari Nominates All Ex-Service chiefs as ambassadors. President Muhammadu Buhari has nominated Service Chiefs who were replaced last week as non-career ambassadors.

The Special Adviser to the President on Media and Publicity, Femi Adesina, disclosed this in a statement on Thursday.

Adesina confirmed that their names have been sent to the Senate for confirmation.

The statement read, “President Muhammadu Buhari has forwarded the names of the immediate past Service Chiefs to the Senate as non-career Ambassadors-Designate.

“In a letter to Senator Ahmad Ibrahim Lawan, President of the Senate, the President said: ‘In accordance with Section 171 (1), (2) (c) & sub-section (4) of 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as amended, I have the honour to forward for confirmation by the Senate, the under-listed five (5) names of nominees as Non-Career Ambassadors-Designate.’

The nominees include: Gen Abayomi G. Olonisakin (Rtd ), Lt Gen Tukur Y. Buratai (Rtd), Air Vice Marshal Mohammed S. Usman (Rtd), Vice Admiral Ibok-Ete Ibas (Rtd) and Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar (Rtd).

The President called on the lawmakers to give quick attention to the recommendation.

It will be recalled President Buhari on Tuesday, 26th January, 2021 appointed new service chiefs for the nation after the previous ones were relieved of their duties.

Those who exited the office are General Abayomi Olonisakin, Chief of Defence Staff, Chief of Army Staff, Lt-Gen. Tukur Buratai; Chief of Naval Staff, Vice Admiral Ibok Ekwe Ibas; and Chief of Air Staff, Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar, all now retired.

Meanwhile, President Muhammadu Buhari has extended the tenure of the Inspector General of Police, Mohammed Adamu by three months.

This development was disclosed on Thursday afternoon by the Minister of Police Affairs, Maigari Dingyadi while briefing State House correspondents at the Presidential Villa, Abuja.


Get daily free tips on football major leagues!